Who’s Team Kate?

26 Nov

The Royal Wedding, it’s all everyone seems to be talking about at the moment.

I keep hearing echoes of “it’s such a pick up during such harsh economic times.” This is the part which confuses me.

People feel ‘perked’ by watching an extremely lavish wedding when the country is in economic crisis?

With designers dreaming up the extremely lavish dress, it seems more Marie Antoinette OTT than recession chic, and we all know how that one ended.

And please, step forward if your one of those who have been placing bets at the bookies as to which designer will be making the dress (at the moment it’s 2:1 to Bruce Oldfield designing the dress, according to Vogue London on Twitter, not that I care). What’s wrong with good old horse racing or football?

I also find the whole class thing questionable. Some news outlets seem to make Kate out to be Oliver Twists sister, when the truth is far from.

Although I’m pretty certain it won’t be the Middleton’s organising the decor. Intrigued by their party blog, I (shamefully) had a look. The Middleton’s tell you how you can have your own X Factor party, complete with sandwiches shaped like stars, star-shaped straws, star-shaped… everything. Sounds like one of my parties.

It’s times like these all those Royalists come out the wood works. The ones you never expected. The ones who swoon every time the happy couple appear on the television.

TEAM KATE

And where there’s a story, there’s a team. There was Team Cheryl, Team Danny, Team Jordan… now we have Team Kate, which is made up of her ex-flat mate, make up artist, hairdresser, close friend, even closer friend and Camilla (who I happen to have a soft spot for after reading Sue Townsend’s Queen Camilla. Read it, I’m sure you’ll feel the same).

Ok… so I have my mum, Flossie the cat, my five best friends and the person who does my nails… is that Team Catherine? Enough with the Teams! (on that note she also seems to have changed her name to Catherine… apparently Kate wasn’t quite posh enough. That made me feel rather regal!)

So when the Royal Wedding is on I shall turn off the telly and recite Blake’s London… “runs in blood down palace walls.” Dark and a bit strange, I know. Although, I will probably just get drunk with the rest of them.

Including the 100 who are randomly chosen through a golden ticket prize draw from the Sun who get to go to the Royal Wedding. Hilarious! Ordinary folk allowed at the Palace. Ordinary Sun readers at that! Free bar! Kate really is like Oliver Twist.

2 Responses to “Who’s Team Kate?”

  1. Frances Quevenco November 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Haha this is brilliant Catrina von Kiwi. I laugh heartily at your snide remarks. Let us meet up again soon. x

  2. mirandalife December 2, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Haha you’re right. Though, I’m not going to lie, ashamed though i am to admit it, i am part of team Danni. I have a girl crush on her.

Leave a Reply

